parallax background

Globally valued qualifications

IQN qualifications are recognised on the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF). The SCQF is one of the national qualifications frameworks in the UK and is managed by the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework Partnership. The SCQF Partnership includes members from the Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education (QAA), College Development Network, the Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA) and Universities Scotland.

How can I verify the recognition of IQN Qualifications?

Only qualifications which are SCQF credit-rated are listed on the SCQF database. You can use weblink below and search by ‘IQN’ (as “Qualification Owner”) in order to verify the recognition of IQN qualifications within the national qualifications framework of Scotland:

What are SCQF Credit and SCQF Level?

The Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF) is Scotland’s national qualifications framework. The SCQF brings together all the mainstream Scottish qualifications and also include IQN qualifications. Through credit rating process, IQN qualifications have received SCQF credit points, which show how much learning has been achieved, and a SCQF level which shows how demanding the learning is.

Which organisations assure the quality of IQN qualifications?

To be eligible to be placed on the SCQF, qualifications must be based on learning outcomes and assessed in a valid, reliable and quality-assured way. IQN qualifications are quality assured by respective SCQF credit rating bodies. SCQF credit rating is a mechanism for organisations to formally allocate SCQF levels and credits to their learning and have that learning placed on Scotland’s national qualifications framework. IQN qualifications are subject to strict annual monitoring by respective SCQF credit rating bodies.

How does IQN get qualifications on to the SCQF?

SCQF credit rating bodies follow a consistent process of credit rating with guidance from the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework Partnership. IQN qualifications are recognised on the SCQF since IQN qualifications continue to meet the following criteria:

  1. IQN qualifications are based on learning outcomes;
  2. IQN qualifications are of minimum of 10 notional learning hours;
  3. IQN qualifications are formally assessed; and
  4. IQN qualifications are quality assured.

What are the benefits of the SCQF recognition?

The SCQF recognition ensures that IQN qualifications will be recognised not just in Scotland but across the rest of UK and Europe. The SCQF recognition helps students to relate IQN qualifications to nationally recognised qualifications. The SCQF recognition adds value to IQN qualifications and does give IQN an edge over other global qualification providers. The SCQF recognises the learning achieved by IQN students, thus improving students’ morale and self-esteem.

What is European Qualifications Framework (EQF)?

Qualifications recognised under SCQF are aligned with European Qualifications Framework (EQF). Hence, IQN qualifications are also mapped against the European Qualifications Framework (EQF). EQF is a European-wide qualifications framework which joins the qualifications of different European countries. In a way, it is a translation of different national qualifications which makes qualifications in different EU countries easier to understand. The EQF was formally adopted by the European Parliament and the Council in April 2008.

Qualification Title SCQF Level EQF Level
Certified Strategic Manager 7 5
Certified Finance Specialist 7 5
Certified Project Management Analyst 7 5
Diploma in Human Resource Management 7 5
Diploma in Marketing 7 5
Diploma in Supply Chain Management 7 5

The SCQF database also includes corresponding EQF levels. You can find the EQF level of all IQN qualifications by browsing through following link: